17 responses

  1. Nevin
    October 11, 2017

    Terrific! I often wondered why Preview would sometimes open some pics in one window, and other pics in another.

    Though, I found, if I quit out and re-opened once or twice, they would eventually all open in a single window. My setting had been “…Group..”, however, there was often no rhyme or reason, except, perhaps, the first few shots of a time lapse set.

    I expect it ought to work more consistently now.

    Thanks!

  2. vdiv
    October 11, 2017

    Preview is the most awesome and capable app in MacOS. That means Apple will sooner or later find a way to destroy it as they have done with iTunes, QuckTime, Disk Utility, etc. :(

    • Steve Smith
      October 12, 2017

      Don’t forget about TextEdit… Which used to be a really useful editing tool until they forced that auto save on us!

      S

  3. WTS
    October 11, 2017

    agree with you

  4. Nede
    October 11, 2017

    Very good, a basic tip that I did not know.

  5. Robin
    October 12, 2017

    Thanks for this! It will definitely make my life easier!

  6. sherpa14k
    October 12, 2017

    Wow, I didn’t know about that trick. Thanks for this one ;)

  7. Jeff
    October 12, 2017

    Another way is leave the preference alone and if you find you have a dozen preview documents open, from the marque… Window/Merge All Windows.

    Now they are all in one using tabs!

  8. Ken
    October 12, 2017

    In High Sierra (macOS 10.13) it seems that this option is under “Images” rather than “General.”

  9. michael p
    October 12, 2017

    This has never worked in all the years Preview has been on my computer, through all the updates, through all the clean installs.

    The fact that it would open into multiple windows when I select multiple documents then strike cmd-O to me seems like a bug in the first place, inasmuch as there’s no rhyme or reason for which picture opens into which window.

  10. Dina
    October 13, 2017

    I have stored all my photographs to the iCloudDrive, did exactly what this tutorial said and still, I cannot view all my photographs as explained above.

  11. Steve
    October 22, 2017

    I have Preview Version 10.0 (944.1) running in OSX High Sierra Version 10.13, and this doesn’t work. The option to open all files in one window is currently only under the images tab, not the general tab.

    I used to be able to open all files — images and pdf’s — in one window, but no longer. There is the option to “Merge all Windows,” but it puts each PDF in a separate tab in that window.

  12. Alex
    November 14, 2017

    Does not work with PDF under High Sierra. But it did so with Sierra.

  13. A.A.
    November 16, 2017

    Lost this functionality on the upgrade to high sierra. No longer able to open multiple files in one preview window. Apple, please fix ASAP!

  14. DFox
    November 17, 2017

    Exactly! Not working in High Sierra. Very irritating.

  15. Jan
    November 22, 2017

    this does not work on high sierra! i shouldn’t have upgraded the os :(

  16. Al
    December 10, 2017

    this option does not work in high sierra update

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

Back to top