17 responses

  1. jeff n
    June 16, 2014

    if you’re cropping to save size, don’t forget that an unadulterated modern version os osx will keep the old copy as a version.

  2. dm10003
    June 16, 2014

    To restrict it to square hold command-shift to start from corner, hold command-option to start from center. To get pre-programmed proportions you have to use iPhoto.

    Do not save the new cropping if you need to keep an original. Unlike an earlier preview you should command-s before cropping to keep an original version. I slide the photo size to max size when saving the command-s version.

    The new preview version has a quirky way of viewing a full screen slide show. You select multiple files, open them, hit command-f for slide show, then WAIT for all the visible files to show up in the thumbnails along the left column. If you don’t wait the program may open a picture halfway into the show, not the first image. THEN you have to immediately stop the slide show autoplay if you don’t want the slide show to play. All very counterintuitive and bothersome compared to the earlier versions.

    • Paul
      June 16, 2014

      Great added tips, the Shift+Drag and Option+Command+Drag additions are particularly great tricks, thanks!

  3. JimGramze
    June 16, 2014

    Why not just double click to open?

    Preview has been my quick and dirty image editor for years. And for PDFs.

    My understanding is that there will be a Preview app in the upcoming iOS 8. ‘that would be awesome!

  4. P Minz
    June 17, 2014

    It used to be easier in OS preview until after OS 10.6 Apple decided to hide the “Crop” away from the Menu Bar. GIF animation has not been supported since OS10.5 It gets worse every generation of Preview.

  5. Craig
    February 7, 2015

    I have a new Mac Air and “my” Preview doesn’t have that toolbar. It shouldn’t be so difficult to simply edit a photo. I have to go through another app to crop a pic as everything I’ve read and tried does not work for me.

    • Demi
      February 23, 2015

      Use cmnd+shift+A

  6. Sendy
    November 22, 2015

    How do I edit or crop out stuff from an image?

  7. Domino
    December 23, 2015

    from a novice perspective the instructions get lame on step 2 because my “toolbox or a little pencil” is greyed out and not functional when I open the image as described in step 1

    • gasno
      December 23, 2015

      If your toolbox is greyed out it’s because the picture file is locked and you can’t edit the file. Copy the image and create a new file with the image to edit it.

      • Mellie
        May 2, 2016

        I have the same issue with a group of pictures I am trying to edit – photos which I personally took – and the image shows as unlocked. If the images are unlocked, why is the edit icon greyed?

  8. Pat
    May 31, 2016

    I don’t see “crop” anywhere in the latest version. There’s a comment above that says it’s been “hidden” – is it still available? And I completely agree – it shouldn’t be this hard just to crop an image.

    • Paul
      May 31, 2016

      Yes the Crop option is in all versions of Preview for Mac.

      Try using the select tool and then hitting Command + K keyboard shortcut to crop instantly, otherwise you can select “Crop” under the Tools menu

  9. Susan Grodsky
    October 10, 2016

    Instructions don’t work at all. There is no “Save As” option and the Save option just saves the original image.

    Very frustrating.

  10. patrick hecking
    January 10, 2017

    I don’t see the crop command anywhere

    but never mind this is the last MAC computer I will ever own

    the next one will be a PC….

  11. James
    July 18, 2017

    Patrick Hecking – The crop feature is available in the very latest version of preview, you just need to click the toolbox icon next to the search bar instead of the pencil in the photos.

    Worked perfectly for me to crop a jpg.

  12. Brian Blackwell
    October 1, 2017

    On my iMac running OS X Yosemite, you drag to crop, then click Tools, Crop, to crop it.

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

Back to top
mobile desktop