21 responses

  1. Lisa Hamaker
    September 29, 2014

    The show edit tool bar and text tool are not active when I bring up an image in preview. Ideas on how to turn them on?

    I am running 10.6.8

    Thanks! Lisa

    • Jeri Studebaker
      September 30, 2014

      I’m having same trouble as Lisa H. I’ve spent 45 minutes trying to get your instructions to work. I’ll think twice after this trying to get any help from osxdaily.

      • Pam
        September 30, 2014

        Step 2 shows revealing the toolbar, this is an essential step otherwise the Text Tools will not be visible.

        “Click the “Show Edit Toolbar” button in the toolbar, then choose the “Text Tool” button”

        You can also choose “Show Edit Toolbar” from the VIEW menu in Preview.

        Of course this is in new versions of Mac OS X, if you’re on a very old unsupported version it may be different. What are you running?

      • pauliebear
        December 13, 2014

        Actually.. that was BRILLIANT solution.. some of the wording is a different on my Mac but I used my common sense and worked out the ‘annotate’.

        Text.. Speachbubbles.. all sorts of loveliness.

        So.. well done.. OSXDaily for helping where two days of searching ‘forums’ etc yielded nothing.

        I was just about to download some Picasa type crap but.. now I don’t have to.

        Cheers..

  2. Gary
    October 9, 2014

    How do you delete a text box in Premiere?

    • Gerpul
      October 9, 2014

      To delete a text box in Preview you select it, and then hit the Delete key

      • S Bub
        April 7, 2015

        What if you’ve already “Xed” out of it and you want to delete it. You cannot select it.

  3. TTT
    November 7, 2014

    I’m having problems with Step 3: “Click with the text tool onto the section of photo where to add the text, then type out the words you want to add”

    With the text tool selected, every time I try to type I get a beep & it doesn’t do anything…help please?

  4. MjMcGillicuty
    December 1, 2014

    I have the latest OS and using Preview to add text to an image file is done by opening Tools on the top Menu Bar and selecting Annotate from the drop down list. The Annotate tab has selections such as Text or Speech Bubble to achieve what you want, plus basic shapes and signature.

    • MjMcGillicuty
      December 1, 2014

      I have OSX Yosimite, 10.10.1 .

    • Ulrike Rettig
      May 21, 2015

      Awesome, MjMcGillicuty ! Thanks so much. I would have never figured this out on my own. Works like a charm.

  5. Monica Gale
    January 6, 2015

    Thank you so much for this, worked like a charm and saved me tons of time messing about. I am really grateful Monica :)

  6. MIMBAR SAPUTRO JAKARTA
    January 24, 2015

    Thanks Bro
    I am newbie to MAC .. even though 62 yo…
    Your tips really works..

    Mimbar
    Jakarta – Indonesia

  7. Chris Dalessandro
    March 1, 2015

    Thank you, I found your directions to be easy to follow. I was looking for an app to write on photos and did not know I already had one! Thanks again you were very helpful.

  8. Twyla
    November 21, 2015

    I used this feature and it was beautiful. But when I print anything from preview they look horrible. The photos with text had lines through them!

  9. Fred Brown
    February 11, 2016

    This works Great! Can you remove the type once it’s saved? How do you do it? Thanks.

    • Richard
      June 11, 2016

      Hi, have followed the comment trail with interest…. but think I may be missing something. Currently using OS X YOSEMITE and Photos. On clicking a chosen picture (from the library) to annotate, then “edit”, “show edit tools”, there no text option. Only enhance, rotate, crop, filters, adjust, retouch and red-eye visible.

      Over to you experts for comment and solution

      Many thanks

      • Anna
        December 3, 2016

        Richard-
        I was seeing exactly what you saw and your comment made me feel like i wasn’t totally losing it! (how could this be so hard?) Then for some reason I decided to try to open photo’s, and drag the photo icon of the photo I wanted to add text to, onto the desktop. THEN (this is where the magic FINALLY happened!) when I opened the photo from the desktop instead of inside photo’s… THERE was the little tool box icon and when I pushed that, there were text options. Hope this helps someone else!

      • Hugh
        January 15, 2017

        Hi Richard

        What you are describing is editing the picture using Photos. This article describes the procedure for adding text using Preview – which works!

        You need to edit your picture using Preview, then you will be ok

  10. Peter Hartnall
    January 22, 2017

    I found this tip really useful. I struggled a bit with my first picture, but then got the hang of it and is easy to you, versatile with its shapes, colours, fonts etc. So a big THANK YOU for the explanation on how to do this. I didn’t even need to spend money on getting a third party app! Peter

  11. Mark
    March 11, 2017

    Turned on preview first time it came up with all my saved pics.
    Few min. Later I again pulled up preview and no pictures , nothing happened when I tried to open the file. Need some assistance
    Shut down system. Could not complete action as preview had refused to shut down…. problems……forced shut down problems continue

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

Back to top