11 responses

  1. parakeet
    January 16, 2013

    Preview is good but it needs some paint tools

  2. Connor
    January 17, 2013

    I think you can also do this in adobe bridge?

  3. Janie Mac
    January 17, 2013

    Am I misreading this?
    I can’t export as GIF from Preview ever since upgrading to Mountain Lion. It used export to GIF in Snow Leopard, but your article leads me to believe I should still be able to export a GIF.

    Only choice I have for export are:

    Where is my GIF option gone?

  4. Janie Mac
    January 17, 2013
  5. mike sanders
    January 18, 2013

    why can’t I view your video in my email, it is just a black rectangle. OS X 10.8.3
    It has been this way for some time.

  6. James
    June 28, 2015

    Thanks for this simple and extremely useful trick. Time to shrink the massive library now!

  7. Jacob
    July 27, 2015

    Thanks a lot.

    If you need to convert a single images to the exact pixels or proportion, and reduce the image size at the same time, you can check out Resizeimage.net, it supports most popular image formats, enables to resize gifs without losing animation, resize pngs without losing transparency.

  8. RC
    January 24, 2016

    This feature is broken in El Capitan. As soon as I select “Export Selected Images” I get an incomplete dialog box, with no export type to choose from. There is a “choose” button, but when I select that, Preview hangs, until I force quit.

    • 5
      January 31, 2016

      Ditto for me: in El Capitan Preview hangs if I try to batch change…

      • Brian
        December 19, 2016

        This feature is working in Sierra (10.12.2) While I agree Preview is one of the underrated apps in the Mac OS, Automator is even more underrated and one can create a two step automator task to perform this as well, and many other photo tasks, for instance a task that will duplicate all images as B&W.

      • Hayley
        October 24, 2017

        Hi Brian, you mention a two step Automator task to perform this. I would love if you could expand upon this, since I have thousands of jpg (screenshots) I need to convert to individual pdf’s so they can then be OCR’d automatically using Hazel to send them to an OCR programme. Thus far, all I have achieved is being able to select several images and create a single PDF using the ‘New PDF from Images’ Automator action. I need individual PDF’s for each image file however.

Leave a Reply




Back to top
mobile desktop